Sisters of Versailles: A Novel (The Mistresses of Versailles Trilogy)

Sisters of Versailles: A Novel (The Mistresses of Versailles Trilogy)

By: Christie, Sally

Price: $6.00

Quantity: 1 available

Book Condition: Used - Good



"An intriguing romp through Louis XV's France. Filled with lush backdrops, rich detail, and colorful characters, fans of historical fiction will enjoy this glimpse into the lost golden era of the French monarchy." (Allison Pataki, author of The Accidental Empress)

"Tantalizing descriptions and cliff-hangers will leave the reader rapidly turning the pages in anticipation...A wickedly delightful read." (New York Daily News)

Goodness, but sisters are a thing to fear.

Court intriguers are beginning to sense that young King Louis XV, after seven years of marriage, is tiring of his Polish wife. The race is on to find a mistress for the royal bed as various factions put their best feet--and women--forward. The King's scheming ministers push sweet, na ve Louise, the eldest of the aristocratic Nesle sisters, into the arms of the King. Over the following decade, she and three of her younger sisters--ambitious Pauline; complacent Diane, and cunning Marie Anne--will conspire, betray, suffer, and triumph in a desperate fight for both love and power as each becomes the king's favorite for a time.

In the tradition of The Other Boleyn Girl, The Sisters of Versailles is a clever, intelligent, and absorbing novel that historical fiction fans will devour. Based on meticulous research on a group of women never before written about in English, Sally Christie's stunning debut is a complex exploration of power and sisterhood--of the admiration, competition, and even hatred that can coexist within a family when the stakes are high enough.

Title: Sisters of Versailles: A Novel (The Mistresses of Versailles Trilogy)

Author Name: Christie, Sally

Categories: Historical Fiction,

Publisher: ATRIA:

ISBN Number: 1501102966

ISBN Number 13: 9781501102967

Binding: Trade Paperback

Book Condition: Used - Good

Seller ID: 362218